Conferment Ceremony

80 PhDs and 17 honorary doctorates will be conferred, and several prizes and medals awarded.

Tickets to the ceremony are free and can be collected in the entrance hall of the University Main Building starting 12:00, 29 January.

The Conferment Ceremony begins at 12:00 with a procession and welcoming by the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Eva Åkesson. The festivities continue into the evening with a banquet at Uppsala Castle for the new PhDs, honorary doctors, award winners, relatives and invited guests.

(Programme given in Swedish.)



(All times are precise.)

07:00 Cannon salute from the castle hill, carried out by Jämtlands fältartilleri.

08:00 The large cathedral bell is rung.

11:30 The Grand Auditorium is opened. Tickets are required for admission, which can be collected for free in the entry hall starting 12:00, 29 January.

11:45 Participants of the procession gather in the galleries of the University Main Building.

12:15 The Conferment Ceremony entry procession

Welcoming words by Vice-Chancellor Eva Åkesson

Lecture by the promotor of the Faculty of Arts, Professor Anna Williams on the suject of The free word

Conferment Ceremony in all faculties

During the Conferment Ceremony, music composed by J.A. Josephson, Stefan Karpe, Lars-Erik Larsson, Jean Sibelius, and others, will be performed by the Royal Academic Orchestra conducted by Director Musices Professor Stefan Karpe. Opera singer Fredrik Zetterström will perform pieces by Sibelius.

Prize ceremony

Exit procession (The audience is asked to please remain seated until the whole procession has exited the auditorium.)

Hosts: Vice-Chancellor Eva Åkesson and Deputy Vice-Chancellor Anders Malmberg.