The 2019 and 2021 Dag Hammarskjöld Lectures

  • Date: –16:30
  • Location:
  • Lecturer: 2019 lecturer, Christiana Figueres, An internationally recognized leader on global climate change. 2021 lecturer, Agnès Callamard, Secretary General of  Amnesty International.
  • Website
  • Organiser: Uppsala University and the Dag Hammarskjöld foundation
  • Contact person: Gabriella Almqvist
  • Phone: 0704250774
  • Föreläsning

This year’s event will feature two lectures. The first by Christiana Figueres, whose 2019 Dag Hammarskjöld Lecture was postponed, and the second by Agnès Callamard, the 2021 lecturer.

Christiana Figueres, an internationally recognized leader on global climate change, will deliver her lecture titled ‘Leadership for the decisive decade’. Thereafter the lecture titled ‘A global compact for a world beyond COVID-19’  will be delivered by Agnès Callamard, Secretary General of  Amnesty International.

The event will be hybrid in format and will take place in Uppsala University Grand Auditorium as well as being livestreamed. Christiana Figueres will deliver her lecture virtually, while Agnès Callamard will give her lecture in person. The two will then engage in a live conversation, to be moderated by Peter Wallensteen, Senior Professor of Peace and Conflict Research at Uppsala University.

The event will be livestreamed starting at 14:00. 

Watch the livestream of The 2019 and 2021 Dag Hammarskjöld Lectures



Welcome by Vice-Chancellor Anders Hagfeldt

Presentation of the 2019 & 2021 lecturers by Peter Wallensteen

“Leadership for the decisive decade”, 2019 Lecture by Christiana Figueres. Figueres was Executive Secretary of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change 2010-2016.

“A global compact for a world beyond COVID-19”, 2021 Lecture by Agnès Callamard. Callamard has worked on a number of international and UN human rights initiatives and has conducted human rights investigations in a number of countries.

Dialogue “Global solutions to global problems: How do we get there?” Moderated by Peter Wallensteen

Presentation of medals